About State Parliament

The Legislative Assembly was the first fully elected legislature in Australia, with its Members being directly elected since 1856. Today the House comprises 93 Members, each representing an electorate of the State.

The New South Wales Parliament has two Houses, the Legislative Assembly and the Legislative Council. The party, or coalition of parties, that hold the majority in the Legislative Assembly is commissioned by the Governor to form Government.

Historically, the Assembly’s special role stemmed from its representative nature, its Members having been directly elected by the people of NSW since 1856. In contrast, the Legislative Council has only been popularly elected since 1978.

The Legislative Assembly has four main roles:

  1. To represent the people
  2. To form the Executive Government for New South Wales
  3. To legislate
  4. To approve the Government’s request for money
  5. Other roles that the Legislative Assembly has are to scrutinise the activity of the Government and keep it accountable to the people of New South Wales, and advising Government on public policy.

Click here to view the Sitting Calendar

Visit Parliament:

A range of programs and events are scheduled throughout the year for the public to engage with the workings of the parliament. These events are designed for families and adults, and can offer the opportunity to view the chambers in session, meet with Members, and on non-sitting days​ to sit in the chambers. Please visit Parliament of NSW’s website for further information.